Know About Chakra Meditations

Chakras are centers of energy within the body running from the base of our spine up to above the crown of our head. The ancient Sanskrit word for chakra translates to ‘wheel’, suggesting that the energy centers in our body are wheels that move our energy upwards. They were first referenced in the Vedas text from the second millennium BCE.

Chakra Meditations astro gem

Root Chakra: Masculine, Earth, Lotus

The root chakra is located at the base of your spine and symbolized by a lotus with four petals and a downward-pointing triangle at its center. Our root chakra is our center of safety, strength, and commitment. When our root chakra is balanced we are grounded, like a warrior.

Sacral Chakra: Feminine, Water, Flower + Moon

The sacral chakra is symbolized by a crescent moon at the center of a flower with six petals. Its color is orange and its element is water. Depending on the tradition, the sacral chakra is located at the center of your lower belly, or in the genital area. The latter is where I was taught it’s located.

Solar Plexus Chakra: Masculine, Fire, 10-Petaled Flower

The solar plexus is the house of our soul. It is located in the upper part of the belly, where your diaphragm rests. It has a connection to the sun, heat, and most importantly, power. Balancing the solar plexus chakra does not mean bringing about the ability to lord power over others, but rather taking charge of our own personal power, making decisions, and building self-confidence.

Heart Chakra: Feminine, Air, Six-Pointed Star With 12 Petals

The heart chakra is located in the center of our chest – more towards the center than our actual heart. The intersecting triangles symbolize the union of opposing forces, creating harmony. The heart chakra is associated with air, signifying lightness of being. One of the best ways to bring this into balance is through breath work.

Throat Chakra: Masculine, Sound, Sixteen-Petaled Flower

Is it any surprise that as we move upwards, the amount of petals, and growth, increases? The throat chakra is light blue in color and is located at, surprise, the throat. Personally, whenever I do chakra work, this is my most activated.

Third Eye Chakra: Feminine, Light, Upside Down Triangle And Lotus Flower

The third eye chakra is characterized by a dark blue color, or indigo, and is located in the center of our forehead. The triangular symbol represents channeling information to the seed from which wisdom blossoms. This is our gateway to higher consciousness.

Crown Chakra: Masculine, Thought, Circle With One Thousand Petals

The seventh chakra, located above the crown of our head and symbolized by the color purple, is our connection to spirit, universal consciousness, enlightenment, and wisdom. Only when the rest of our chakras are in balance can we tap into this incredible loving power.

Astrogem Experts

Our Expert Astrologers